Pa. Senate expected to remain under GOP control, while Democrats add new member

Newly elected senators are sworn into office to begin their four-year term on Jan. 3, 2023

By: - November 11, 2022 1:06 pm
Pennsylvania Capitol Building. May 24, 2022. Harrisburg, Pa. (Photo by Amanda Berg, for the Capital-Star).

Pennsylvania Capitol Building in Harrisburg, Pa. (Photo by Amanda Berg for the Capital-Star).

With control of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives coming down to two close races, Republicans in the Senate will retain power, holding a 28-22 majority after Tuesday’s election.

All eight Republican incumbents up for re-election won their races in newly drawn districts, and voters elected five new GOP senators to the upper chamber, according to unofficial results from the Department of State.

Senate President Pro Tempore Jake Corman, R-Centre, and Senate Majority Leader Kim Ward, R-Westmoreland, celebrated the predicted victory earlier this week, saying Pennsylvania voters trust and support a GOP majority.

“Our candidates ran strong campaigns highlighting their accomplishments and plans for the future, and the results reflect that,” Ward said in a statement. “Our Senate majority is ready to get to work to help Pennsylvanians struggling through high inflation, rising energy costs, and rampant crime.”

The following Republicans won re-election to the upper chamber:

  • Sen. Ryan Aument, 36th Senate District
  • Sen. Lisa Baker, 20th Senate District
  • Sen. Camera Bartolotta, 46th Senate District
  • Sen. Michele Brooks, 50th Senate District
  • Sen. Chris Gebhard, 48th Senate District
  • Sen. Kristin Phillips-Hill, 28th Senate District
  • Sen. Pat Stefano, 32nd Senate District
  • Sen. Judy Ward, 30th Senate District

“Senate Republicans’ success at the ballot box on Tuesday demonstrates that Pennsylvanians still believe in our mission of fighting against higher taxes and promoting safer communities,” Corman, who is retiring, said. “I congratulate my colleagues for their hard-fought wins in every corner of the state.”

What legislative races the Capital-Star is watching on Nov. 8

Voters also elected the following five new Republican senators:

  • Sen.-elect Rosemary Brown, 40th Senate District
  • Sen.-elect Jarrett Coleman, 16th Senate District
  • Sen.-elect Frank Farry, 6th Senate District
  • Sen.-elect Tracy Pennycuick, 24th Senate District
  • Sen.-elect Greg Rothman, 34th Senate District

Farry, Pennycuick, and Rothman will move from the House of Representatives to the Senate.

Eleven Senate Democrats will return to the upper chamber:

  • Sen. Lisa Boscola, 18th Senate District
  • Sen. Maria Collett, 12th Senate District
  • Sen. Marty Flynn, 22nd Senate District
  • Sen. Wayne Fontana, 42nd Senate District
  • Sen. Art Haywood, 4th Senate District
  • Sen. Tim Kearney, 26th Senate District
  • Sen. Katie Muth, 44th Senate District
  • Sen. Steve Santarsiero, 10th Senate District
  • Sen. Tina Tartaglione, 2nd Senate District
  • Sen. Anthony Williams, 8th Senate District
  • Sen. Lindsey Williams, 38th Senate District

Voters also elected Sen.-elect Nick Miller to represent Senate District 14, which includes parts of Northampton and Lehigh counties.

“This year, our candidates ran on a platform of freedom: the freedom to make your own choices about your own body and the freedom to build a better, more secure life for you and your family,” Senate Minority Leader Jay Costa, D-Allegheny, said. “That message resonated with voters, and we’re excited to return to Harrisburg next session with a larger caucus than we have seen in years.”

Newly elected senators are sworn into office to begin their four-year term on Jan. 3, 2023.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.