The Lead

How Pa.’s congressional delegation voted on objections to electoral vote count

By: - January 7, 2021 3:40 pm

The U.S. Capitol at night (Image via Flickr Commons)

Due to violence in the nation’s capital Wednesday, Congress was delayed into the early hours of Thursday morning when it ultimately affirmed President-elect Joe Biden’s victory 306-232. 

In case you missed the roll call vote on objections to Pennsylvania’s electoral vote count, here’s how members of the Keystone state’s delegation cast their vote. 

 In the Senate, Pennsylvania’s Bob Casey, a Democrat, and Pat Toomey, a Republican, seemed to find common ground. Both senators voted no on the objection. 

Seven senators voted to object to Pennsylvania results: 

  • U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Tx.
  • U.S. Sen. Josh Hawley, R-Mo.
  • U.S. Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Miss.
  • U.S. Sen. Cynthia Lummis, R- Wyo.
  • U.S. Sen. Roger Marshall, R-Kan. 
  • U.S. Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla. 
  • U.S. Sen. Tommy Tuberville, R-Ala.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Cassie Miller
Cassie Miller

A native Pennsylvanian, Cassie Miller worked for various publications across the Midstate before joining the team at the Pennsylvania Capital-Star. In her previous roles, she has covered everything from local sports to the financial services industry. Miller has an extensive background in magazine writing, editing and design. She is a graduate of Penn State University where she served as the campus newspaper’s photo editor. She is currently pursuing her master’s degree in professional journalism at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In addition to her role at the Capital-Star, Miller enjoys working on her independent zines, Dead Air and Infrared. Follow her on Twitter: @Wordsby_CassieM.